Skip to content

The American Board of Orthodontics awards the 2015 Albert H. Ketcham Memorial Award to Dr. David L. Turpin



The American Board of Orthodontics (ABO) awarded the Albert H. Ketcham Memorial Award, its highest honor, to Dr. David L. Turpin of Federal Way, WA, May 16, 2015 at the Excellence in Orthodontics Awards Ceremony, which was held in conjunction with the 2015 Annual Session of the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) in San Francisco, CA.

The ABO created this award in 1936 to commemorate the achievements of Dr. Albert H. Ketcham, one of the pioneers in the specialty of orthodontics. The ABO awards this honor annually to an individual who, in the judgment of the award committee, has made a notable contribution to to the science and art of orthodontics.

Dr. Turpin is editor emeritus of the American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics (AJO-DO). He served as the editor-in-chief of the AJO-DO from 1999 to 2010 and as the interim editor-in-chief from 2013 to 2014. He currently serves on the Executive Committee of the World Federation of Orthodontists (WFO) and is the associate editor for the WFO’s publication, the WFO Gazette. Prior to these most recent editorial positions, Dr. Turpin served as editor of The Angle Orthodontist, a publication of the Edward H. Angle Society of Orthodontists, and the PCSO Bulletin, a publication of the Pacific Coast Society of Orthodontists (PCSO).

Dr. Turpin earned his DDS at the University of Iowa and completed his master’s degree in orthodontics at the University of Washington. Dr. Turpin, who was in private practice for 37 years, is the Moore/Riedel Professor of Orthodontics in the Department of Orthodontics at the University of Washington School of Dentistry. Dr. Turpin is a Diplomate of the ABO and a member of the College of Diplomates of the American Board of Orthodontics. He is a member of the Angle Northwest Component of the Edward H. Angle Society of Orthodontists. He served on the PCSO Board of Directors from 1978 to 1988. He was also an ex officio member of the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Board of Trustees from 1999 to 2010 and 2013 to 2014.

Dr. Turpin, who has received numerous dental journalism awards from the International College of Dentists, received the Dale B. Wade Award of Excellence in Orthodontics from the ABO in 2012, the PCSO Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011, and the James E. Brophy Distinguished Service Award from the AAO in 2007. He has been a guest lecturer at numerous international meetings and has given several named lectures, including the Jacob A. Salzmann Lecture at the 2006 AAO Annual Session, the PCSO’s President’s Lecture in 2007 and 2012, and the 31st Annual Alton W. Moore Lectureship in 2011.